Name: Derek Fox

What town do you live in now: Holly Springs

Where are you originally from: Northern VA (Woodbridge)

When did you start running: Probably age 14/15

Why did you start running: Just to get out of the house as a teenager, it’s always been the best way for me to clear my head and de-stress.

What is your running shoe of choice: Anything on sale with roughly 5mm drop and listed as under 9oz, currently am running mostly in some Asics that check those boxes.

What is your favorite running accessory (you don’t leave home without it): My UD vest, keeps my hands free on long runs and holds food, phone, music, liquids, etc and I barely feel it is on.

What race are you currently training for: Not sure, just always training. I’m not that good at planning long term. The only thing paid for on the calendar is the HS Half.

How many days a week do you run: 4-5

How many miles a week do you run: 20-50ish depending on what I feel and what other activities I am doing, but last year the average was around 30.

What time of day do you like to run: Anytime

What is your favorite type of training run (speedwork, hills, tempo, long, easy, etc): All of the above. I normally don’t set out to do something specific, I just see how the run progresses and mix things up when I feel like it.

What was your most frustrating running related injury: Achilles tendon pain in college. I could barely walk for 3 months. That was my fault from increasing mileage too quickly, and retrospectively I had terrible form.

If you could run any race which one would you choose: I’d like to become proficient at, and do some of the big elevation gain ultras. Like 25,000+ ft of climbing over 100 miles. Why not, right?

What is your favorite distance in a race: Anything Marathon and up

What is your favorite race: Uwharrie 40, I think because I didn’t let it get the better of me after my first one. I’ve done 4 now and the support is great as well as the trail.

What was your worst race: Uwharrie 40, my first one. I totally underestimated what 7000ish ft of total climbing would be like and really felt like I wasn’t going to make it.

What is your biggest running accomplishment: Probably finishing Umstead 100 the first time. I wasn’t sure I would be able to during the race after a terrible start and not knowing the distance and how to pace/eat/drink properly for it.